The Rustenburg Local Municipality was established by North West Provincial Gazette No 5574 dated 29 September 2000 in terms of Section 12 of the Municipal Structures Act, Act 117 of 1998. In accordance with this notice, existing municipalities were disestablished and the new Rustenburg Local Municipality came into being.
The Rustenburg Local Municipality was established as a Category B municipality with an Executive Mayor and Ward Committees. After a major restructuring and transformation process during 2001/2002, the Rustenburg Local Municipality is entering its fourth year of operation in its current framework. The Rustenburg Local Municipality consist of two interlinked organisational streams; the one providing political leadership and governance and the other performing the operational and administrative functions.
Rustenburg Local Municipality is governed by 72 Councillors. A total of 36 councillors are elected on ward representation, whilst 36 are from a system of proportional representation. The Ward Councillors are responsible for conveying local concerns and issues to the Council. The Council, the city’s highest decision making body meets once a month.
“A world class city where all communities enjoy a high quality of life”.
Mission Statement
“To continuously improve the quality of life, economic growth and eradicate poverty through best practice, sustainability and inclusive governance”.
Municipal Priorities
Efficient provision of quality basic service and infrastructure within a well planned spatial structure
Drive economic growth and job creation
Ensure municipal financial viability and management
Maintain clean, green, safe and healthy municipal environment for all
Transform and maintain a vibrant and sustainable rural development
Uphold good governance and public participation principles
Drive optimal institutional development, transformation and capacity building

Municipal Offices

Mpheni House
Cnr Beyers Naude & Nelson Mandela Drive

Fire Department

Fire Chief: Mr Ramothwala
Cnr Nelson Mandela and Bethlehem drive
Rustenburg Town, 0299
Emergency: 014 590 3232
Phone:014 590 3444/3853

Traffic Department

Director: Mr K. Boikanyo
Cnr Dr Moroka and Nelson Mandela drive
Rustenburg, 0299
Phone: (014) 590 3221

Municipal Library

Cnr Thabo Mbeki And Heystek Drive
Rustenburg Town, 0299
Phone: (014) 590 3704
Hours: Monday – Friday 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.